:: User Login ::    :: Create User Account ::

Tuesday March 28 2017 

Featured Sponsors McConvilles Super Valu Fitzpatrick's, New Lodge Cross MDC Physiotherapy JackandJade Limited

34858 visitors
since February 20, 2015

RSS Feed



The origin of Monasterevin Gaelic Football Club is one of the oldest. Not only in the county of Kildare . but also in the entire country; and in 1887. Monasterevin was one of the first clubs in the county to affiliate under G.A.A. rules, along with Clane. Carbury and Kilcock, though at this time these clubs were more athletic than they were Gaelic. Although solely a football club in the present day. Monasterevin won the first Senior Hurling Championship ever played in Kildare. In fact, they triumphed in the first three

 Senior Hurling Championships:

  • 1888 v Maynooth
  • 1889 Unopposed
  • 1890 v Moorefield

 In 1988 they went on to represent Kildare in the Leinster Hurling Championship: but were beaten by the Dublin Kickhams. 4-3 to 0-2, in Elm Park , Donnybrook.

 Monasterevin stormed to a football-hurling double in 1890 (defeating Clane, by 1-3 to 1-2, in the football final) wearing the racing colours of the Cassidys, the local distillery and brewery family (straw and blue). A medal of this team shows the team described as the "Fizzers".

Inspirational figures of this era included Paddy Molohan (a leading protagonist in the foundation of Kildare G.A.A. and a highly proficient hurler) and Ned Lawlor. After this, Monasterevin not only faded from the hurling scene, but they also vanished for five years from domestic competition in both codes.

 Monasterevin re-emerged as a force once more when capturing the inaugural Junior Championship of 1906 (inspired by the return of Ned Kennedy from Clane). They extended their roll of honour by winning a second Junior Championship in 1910 and a second Senior Championship in 1911 (defeating Roseberry, 2-1 to 0-2), only to be denied a third senior crown by Roseberry in the 1912 decider.

Outstanding players of this epoch included Stephen Vanston, Maurice Twomey, Mick Dowling, Richard "Stix" Dowling and Mick "Joyce" Byrne. Monasterevin were not to win a Senior Championship again until 1977 though they were always to the fore in the Kildare G.A.A. scene, securing an Intermediate Championship in 1959 and 1971, Junior Championships in 1935 and 1954 and Senior Leagues [ Leinster

Leader Cup] in 1973 and 1974, along with many underage titles. However, the icing was laid on Monasterevin's football renaissance during the 1970s, with the elevation of the Royal Blue and White complement to the status of Senior Champions in 1977; and in turn, Kildare All-Stars' Club of the Year.

Having savoured success in the seventies, the following years were a disappointment. However, with the advent of Monasterevin Og in 1988 came a bountiful harvest of success at underage level, both in championship and league competitions, the pinnacle of which was the U.16 "A" Championship in 1990. In recognition of their focused endeavours, Monasterevin Og had the honour of receiving the award for Bord na nOg Club of the Year in 1990.

In respect of more contemporary accomplishment at adult grade, the 1990s have thus far failed to yield a copious harvest. However,, the Royal Blue and White complements' second outfit did nonetheless enjoy substantial supremacy in Division 2 of the Junior Football League, netting two trophies from three divisional final appearances in four years (1993 and 1995); whilst, Monasterevin's first team did, for three years running, only narrowly miss out on a return to the top flight of S.F.L. Division 1 (1994-1996).

Sadly, this revival did not last too long as two years later (i.e. 1998) the club's first team were relegated to Division 3 for the first time in the club's history. but, history of a more pleasant variety was created in the closing months of last season with the Junior'C's capturing an unprecedented league and championship double.

Over the years Monasterevin has been represented on the County Senior football team by many footballers with men like Liam Gleeson and Bob Harrison (Kildare AllStars' Player of the Year for 1976) having many a fine game for their county; and Hugh Hyland having the honour of captaining the County Senior Team in the Leinster Final of 1978.

From the early sports days in J.P. Cassidy's field, the club has moved to various venues including John Dunne's field, Clogheen; Lawlor's field; and Clodhdeo, before finally purchasing its present grounds ( Father Prendergast Memorial Park ) in 1954. From being one of the first clubs to own their own grounds, Monasterevin have progressed and developed their dressing room facilities and social centres to make their grounds a most attractive venue for events, be they sports or social. May it long continue and may the Barrowside Blues of lreland's Venice continue to be a potent yet progressive force in the G.A.A. for years to come.


The Club's Roll of Honour:


S.F.C.: 1890, 1911, 1977. Runners-up: 1907, 1910, 1912, 1973, 1976;

I.F.C.: 1959, 1971; J.F.C.: 1906, 1910, 1935, 1954.

Runners-up:1930, 1945; S.F.C. 'B': Runners-up: 1992;

J.F.C. "A": 1950, 1954; J.F.C."C":1998; M.F.C.: 1928. Runners-up: 1992; U.16

F.C.:1990. Runners-up: 1993, 1996;

S.F.L. (L.L. Cup): 1973, 1974. Runners-up: 1975;

J.F.L.:1945, 1954. Runners-up: 1933, 1948;

J.F.L. (Div. 2): 1993, 1995. Runners-up: 1973, 1996; 

J.F.L. (Div. 3B): 1998; M.F.L. (Div. l): Runners-up: 1993; M.F.L. (Div. 2): 1992; M.F.L. (Div. 3): 1990; U.17 F.L.: 1984; U.16 F.L. (Div. l): 1992. Runners-up: 1993; U.16 F.L. (Div. 2): 1991, 1996. Runners-up: 1990;